Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Prone's Avatar Honesty is key ~

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Country
    Posts
    805
    Thanked
    241
    Thanks
    200
    Every since I brought my computer home, I've been unable to get signal to the monitor. I assumed my graphics card was just loose, but even after securing it nothing happened. I had to take apart my computer as I was bringing it on the plane with me and I put it back together using the pictures I took of it before removing components. I dont think anything is damaged due to these reasons (I could be wrong though):

    > I laid the computer on its side while securing the graphics card and tested for any signal (And I managed to get a signal), but the secondI stood it back up the connection stopped responding. I tried this a few times and the result was the same. Soon after I got a computer screw to hold it down properly, but now I cant get a signal at all.

    > The computer starts up perfectly fine (LED lights on the motherboard, fans spinning, graphics card fan working, etc...), but just nothing for the monitor. I've tried using different cables and monitors but its all the same.

    > Ive tried resetting the motherboard (removing battery for a few minutes) as well as holding the power button with the power cord disconnected, but no luck.

    > Furthest I've gotten was to the desktop, but the computer froze about 15-20 minutes after.

    Now my question is, does anything need to be replaced? Or is there a quick method to find out if anything is fried?
    Credits to Azuki

    * ~ Obsessed With Love ~ *
    +*~Give me your Heart; I'll give you my Life~*+
    Check out my poems at: http://meaningbehindit.blogspot.com/

  2. #2
    Bunny's Avatar woof.

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Country
    Posts
    5,023
    Thanked
    2,757
    Thanks
    1,127
    probably a faulty cable (considering you are using the same one), those arent supposed to last more than 3-4 years. What cable are you using?

  3. #3
    Prone's Avatar Honesty is key ~

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Country
    Posts
    805
    Thanked
    241
    Thanks
    200
    Originally Posted by Bunny View Post
    probably a faulty cable (considering you are using the same one), those arent supposed to last more than 3-4 years. What cable are you using?
    HDMI. Ive tried using multiple and got the same result.
    Credits to Azuki

    * ~ Obsessed With Love ~ *
    +*~Give me your Heart; I'll give you my Life~*+
    Check out my poems at: http://meaningbehindit.blogspot.com/

  4. #4
    Linzor's Avatar White shores, and beyond

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Country
    Posts
    4,472
    Thanked
    543
    Thanks
    1,600
    Tried with another monitor?

  5. #5
    Prone's Avatar Honesty is key ~

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Country
    Posts
    805
    Thanked
    241
    Thanks
    200
    Originally Posted by Linzor View Post
    Tried with another monitor?
    Monitor works with xbox so no issues there
    Credits to Azuki

    * ~ Obsessed With Love ~ *
    +*~Give me your Heart; I'll give you my Life~*+
    Check out my poems at: http://meaningbehindit.blogspot.com/

  6. #6
    Prone's Avatar Honesty is key ~

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Country
    Posts
    805
    Thanked
    241
    Thanks
    200
    Nvm, found the solution. /close
    Credits to Azuki

    * ~ Obsessed With Love ~ *
    +*~Give me your Heart; I'll give you my Life~*+
    Check out my poems at: http://meaningbehindit.blogspot.com/

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)